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Technical Questions for Clarification – January 23 2019 
 
 
1. Angled Intersection – If a domestic-level team (eg., Intermediate or Open) only has 12 skaters and executes 
an Angled Intersection (with back-to-back feature) in 2 lines of 6, can it still be called Level 3 if executed 
correctly? (Since Communication 2182 describes a Level 3 Angled Intersection as being executed in 2 lines of 8.)  

 If not, what is the highest call an Angled Intersection executed in 2 lines of 6 could be given? 
 ISU Technical Handbook should be followed which states that the Technical Panel determines the level 

of the element as skated and lowers by one level due to the fact that they are skating with less than 16. 
Note, that we are not routinely following this section of the handbook (i.e. lowering the element one 
level) because we do not require that domestic teams skate with 16, however, in this case, there are 
other possible intersections that a team of 12 may choose which meet the intersection requirements. 

 
 
2. Two Configurations in NHE – A team of 12 begins their NHE in 4 lines of 3 skaters, from the judges’ horizontal 
view (as shown at the top of page 6 in the ISU Records of Clarifications document published November 21), then 
pivots 90 degrees so that they are now in 3 lines of 4 from the judges’ horizontal view (also shown at the top of 
page 6), and continue skating. Can this be given credit for “two different configurations”, even though no skaters 
actually moved to a different place or different line? 

 On page 5 of the ISU Records of Clarifications, at the bottom, it says that they not only must change 
positions but that this must result in a different number of lines when both are viewed from the 
horizontal view, so just pivoting doesn’t meet the requirements. 

 ISU Technical Handbook (page 12) states that “A different closed block configuration is required for the 
second configuration. Technical Panel must consider the configuration from all angles & decide in favour 
of the team 

 
 
3. Pair Element – Can you clarify whether there is any penalty for domestic-level teams (not Junior or Senior) 
who execute a Pair Element with fewer than 8 pairs? Eg., If an Intermediate or Open team of 12 executes 6 pair 
pivots, is this considered having two pairs with errors since there are not 8 pairs? 

 There is no requirement for 8 pairs; however, a team may not choose to perform a pair element when 
skating with an odd number (unless due to illness or injury); they must choose to do a SyS spin. As long 
as there is an even number of pairs, there is no penalty unless errors are made in the pairs that are 
skated. For every 2 pairs that make an error, lower one level. Base level is still the lowest call. 
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4. Move Element – Page 10 of the Technical Handbook states, “ME is given no value, if each Skater does not 
attempt an fm (not including Skater(s) who fall or unsuccessfully “attempt” an fm).” Does this mean that if just 
one skater does not attempt an fm, the element is given no value? Or would “no value” only be called if ¼ did 
not attempt an fm, per the language on page 2 of the Technical Handbook? (“If the basic requirements listed for 
each Element/Additional Feature in the Difficulty Groups in ISU Comm. 2182 are not met/attempted by ¼ of the 
team or more Skaters (not due to a fall, illness, or interruption). Element/Additional Feature is given no value.”) 

 Similarly, is there any penalty if only one skater does not rotate at least 3 revolutions on 1 foot in a 
Synchronized Spin? Or is no value only called if ¼ of the team or more does not rotate at least 3 
revolutions on 1 foot?  

 For the ME, if one skater does not attempt an fm, then no value; Follow the general language on page 2 
unless specified differently for an element in it’s specific section. 

 For the SyS spin, no value if ¼ of the team rotate less than 3 revs. because it is not specifically indicated 
as something different in the SyS spin section. 

 
 
5. Circle Element – A team begins in one circle, rotating CCW. Then, one after another (i.e., syncopated), each 
skater begins skating in the opposite rotational direction until there are two circles side-by-side, rotating in 
opposite directions. Can this be given credit for a change of configuration since Communication 2182 states the  
change of configuration can be done in “any manner” (page 5)? Or would this not be permitted since all skaters 
do not execute the feature at the same time (Technical Handbook page 2)? 
 

 Page 6 Communication 2182 also states that the change of rotational direction must be executed at the 
same time by at least ½ of the team so this shouldn’t be permitted.  

 
 


